Semi-sweet

Semi-sweet

A Novel of Love and Cupcakes

Book - 2011 | 1st U.S. ed.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
In the small Irish town of Clongarvin, Hannah is about to open the doors to her new shop Cupcakes on the Corner when her boyfriend Patrick announces that he's leaving her for another woman. Her best friend Adam talks her into giving the new business seven months to become a success before giving up. While Hannah is slowly piecing her life back together, her friend Alice's is falling apart.
Publisher: New York : 5-Spot, 2011.
Edition: 1st U.S. ed.
ISBN: 9780446570114
0446570117
Characteristics: 385 p. ; 21 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
Starpoem
Dec 03, 2016

* As you may have guessed from the cover, there are plenty of delightful food descriptions in the book. In the afterward to the book, the author said, "...I'm always delighted when someone says, 'Your book made me so hungry.' It's right up there with, 'Your book made me cry.'"

* Roisin Meaney would be glad to know that this book did make me cry. It is a much more serious book than Life Drawing for Beginners, the other book by her that I have read. At first I thought I wouldn't like it, but I ended up loving it. The book is about people learning the hard way that it takes a lot of effort to make relationships work. The book is not 100% sad, though. If there hadn't been some hopeful parts, I wouldn't have liked it so much.

* The story takes place in a predominantly Catholic community. I found it interesting to read about the Irish experience of Catholicism, since it's a bit different from my experience of growing up Catholic in the Land o' Lutherans.

* I love Roisin Meaney's writing style--especially the way she works with a large cast of characters and shows how their lives are interrelated. I'm sad that she has only had two books published in the USA. She's had lots more published in her native Ireland. I'll have to see whether there's a way to get my hands on them.

jeanner222 Dec 26, 2012

In the tradition of Maeve Binchy, Ms. Meaney spins a tale of Irish village life. Our principal focus is Hannah Robinson, who has just opened a cupcake shop AND been dumped by her boyfriend.

But Hannah is not the only one we’ll meet in tiny Clongarvin. Other folks include:

• Adam, Hannah’s best friend, who has fallen for a musician,
• Leah, the woman who “stole” Hannah’s boyfriend, Patrick, and
• Alice, the friend of Hannah’s mother, who is dealing with a spouse and his substance abuse.

All of the women’s emotional tales evoke bitter and sweet feelings. This was not as cupcake-focused as I wanted it to be, but it was still a decent diversion.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WCCLS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top