Scare the Light Away

Scare the Light Away

Book - 2005 | 1st ed.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
Baker & Taylor
Recent widow Rebecca McKenzie, a successful Vancouver businesswoman, returns to Hope River after a thirty-year absence to attend her mother's funeral, but the discovery of her mother's old diaries and the disappearance of a young local girl, a crime in which her brother becomes the prime suspect, force her to launch an investigation into the case.

Poisoned Pen Press

"Delany delivers an outstanding debut novel that explores the good, the bad, and the ugly of family relationships." —Booklist

Rebecca McKenzie, a successful Vancouver businesswoman, returns to tiny Hope River after an absence of 30 years to attend her mother's funeral. Estranged from her father and two older siblings, she'd left a brutal childhood and a psychopathic grandfather behind. She expects her visit to be short. But then she discovers the diaries written by her mother, a British war bride with a young baby who came to Canada to join a husband she scarcely knew, and finds her heart wrung by her mother's story. Meanwhile, a young girl has gone missing, and suspicion falls on Rebecca's handsome, charming brother Jimmy. Before long, violence threatens and Rebecca must put aside some long-held grievances to cut to the heart of the crime.



Ingram Publishing Services
Recently widowed Rebecca McKenzie left her hometown 30 years ago to escape a brutal childhood and psychopathic grandfather. When she returns for her mother's funeral, a diary and her troubled brother cause her to extend her stay.

Recently widowed Rebecca McKenzie, a successful Vancouver businesswoman, returns to small-town Hope River after an absence of 30 years to attend her mother's funeral. Estranged from her father and two older siblings, she's left a brutal childhood and a psychopathic grandfather behind. She expects her visit home to be short. but then she discovers the diaries written by her mother, a British war bride with a young baby who came to Canada to join a husband she scarcely knew. Rebecca (and the reader) find her heart wrung by her mother's story.


Meanwhile, a young girl has gone missing, and the suspicions of the townspeople fall on Rebecca's handsome, charming brother Jimmy. Before long, violence threatens and Rebecca must put aside some long-held grievances to protect Jimmy and find the real killer.


This debut novel will appeal to readers of Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs and Pip Granger's Not All Tarts Are Apple and its sequels, evoking admiration, respect, and sympathy for members of The Greatest Generation, both English and Canadian.



Baker
& Taylor

Recently widowed Rebecca McKenzie left her hometown 30 years ago to escape a brutal childhood and psychopathic grandfather. When she returns for her mother's funeral, a diary and her troubled brother cause her to extend her stay.

Publisher: Scottsdale, AZ : Poisoned Pen Press, 2005.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9781590581414
1590581415
Branch Call Number: PR9199.4.D435 S3 2005
Characteristics: 337 p. ; 23 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
o
occy
Nov 16, 2013

I really enjoyed this novel. A look inside the lives of a dysfunctional family and how they come to terms with the past.

This is the second Delany novel I've read and she is quickly becoming one of my favorite Canadian authors.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WCCLS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top