Beneath These Stones

Beneath These Stones

Book - 2000 | 1st U.S. ed.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
After the death of her biological mother and the recent murder of her step mom, twelveyearold Tammy Franklin once again faces loss and confusion as her father becomes the primary suspect in the killing and Superintendent Markby's investigation uncovers a very complicated story. Original.

McMillan Palgrave
Life has not been easy for 12-year-old Tammy Franklin. Her mother has passed away, and now her father's new wife has been found stabbed to death. Superintendent Markby is the first on the scene, and he must protect Tammy, as her father is the primary suspect. No one is talking, and Markby and Mitchell are faced with a truth far more complex than they imagined.

Blackwell North Amer
Life has not been easy for twelve-year-old Tammy Franklin. In the past two years, she's learned too much about death, too quickly. Twenty months ago she lost her mother to a long, lingering illness. Now the woman her father married - a misguided attempt to replace his wife - has been found dead on a railway embankment adjacent to the Franklin farm. And this time the death is a murder: Sonia Franklin has been stabbed.
One of the first investigators on the scene, Superintendent Markby knows that Tammy now stands to lose her father as well. Hugh Franklin, whose second marriage clearly wasn't happy, and who had failed to notify the police of his wife's disappearance, is the primary suspect. Markby is determined to delegate the case to a colleague. But as the investigation continues, he finds that he cannot distance himself from it: His girlfriend, Meredith Mitchell, knows Tammy's teacher, Jane. And Jane is vehemently convinced of Hugh's innocence.

Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Minotaur, 2000.
Edition: 1st U.S. ed.
ISBN: 9780312241780
Characteristics: 250 p. ; 22 cm.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Dec 06, 2016

(Book 12 in the Mitchell and Markby Village series) Series
Mitchell and Markby Village
1. Say It With Poison (1991)
2. A Season For Murder (1991)
3. Cold In The Earth (1992)
4. Murder Among Us (1992)
5. Where Old Bones Lie (1993)
6. A Fine Place For Death (1994)
7. Flowers For His Funeral (1994)
8. Candle For A Corpse (1995)
9. A Touch Of Mortality (1996)
10. A Word After Dying (1996)
11. Call The Dead Again (1998)


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at WCCLS

To Top