La casa de Riverton

La casa de Riverton

Book - 2011 | Spanish | 1a ed.
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
Living in a nursing home, ninety-eight-year-old Grace remembers the secrets surrounding the 1924 suicide of a young poet during a glittering society party hosted by Grace's English aristocrat employers, a family that is shattered by war.

Perseus Publishing
Magnífico retrato de los últimos esplendores de la aristocracia inglesa, un mundo de convenciones y secretos atravesado por vehementes pasiones y terribles desengaños.
Verano de 1924. 

Durante una rutilante fiesta de la alta sociedad en Riverton Manor, una preciosa mansión a orillas de un lago, un joven y prometedor poeta se quita la vida. Las únicas testigos de ese dramático hecho, las hermanas Hannah y Emmeline Hartford, no se volverán a hablar nunca más.

Invierno de 1999.
 Grace Bradley, una anciana de noventa y ocho años que otrora fuera doncella en Riverton Manor recibe la visita de una joven directora de cine que está rodando una película sobre el suicidio del poeta. Esa visita convoca los fantasmas del pasado, recuerdos que durante décadas Grace había relegado a lo más profundo de su mente, incapaz de enfrentarse a ellos.

ENGLISH DESCRIPTION


From the #1 internationally bestselling author of The Forgotten Garden comes a gorgeous novel set in England between World War I and World war II. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept a secret for decades.

Grace Bradley went to work at Riverton House as a servant when she was just a girl, before the First World War. For years her life was inextricably tied up with the Hartford family, most particularly the two daughters, Hannah and Emmeline.

In the summer of 1924, at a glittering society party held at the house, a young poet shot himself. The only witnesses were Hannah and Emmeline and only they—and Grace—know the truth.

In 1999, when Grace is ninety-eight years old and living out her last days in a nursing home, she is visited by a young director who is making a film about the events of that summer. She takes Grace back to Riverton House and reawakens her memories. Told in flashback, this is the story of Grace's youth during the last days of Edwardian aristocratic privilege shattered by war, of the vibrant twenties and the changes she witnessed as an entire way of life vanished forever.

The novel is full of secrets—some revealed, others hidden forever, reminiscent of the romantic suspense of Daphne du Maurier. It is also a meditation on memory, the devastation of war and a beautifully rendered window into a fascinating time in history.

Kate Morton’s first novel, originally published to critical acclaim in Australia, and quickly becoming a #1 bestseller in England, The House at Riverton is a vivid, page-turning novel of suspense and passion, with characters—and an ending—readers won't soon forget.

Publisher: Madrid : Punto De Lectura, 2011.
Edition: 1a ed.
ISBN: 9788466325066
8466325069
Characteristics: 518 p. ; 20 cm.
Additional Contributors: Borovsky, Luisa 1959-

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at WCCLS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top